IPL 2019: Sunrisers Hyderabad release 9 players while retaining 17

Sunrisers Hyderabad, the winner of IPL 2016 title, on Thursday (November 15) announced the list of players they have retained and released ahead of the 12th season of the tournament.

Beleaguered Australian vice-captain David Warner is part of the 17 players retained by the franchise, while SRH has released nine players including the trade-off of Shikhar Dhawan to Delhi Daredevils.

Indian wicket-keeper Wriddhiman Saha is one of biggest names released by the franchise. The SRH think-tank has also decided to let go of few top overseas players in Alex Hales, Carlos Brathwaite, and Chris Jordan.

The retention list of SRH includes the likes of Warner (who was absent in the last IPL edition after the ball-tampering act), Kane Williamson, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, and Manish Pandey. With Warner returning, it is expected that he will take over the captaincy duties from Williamson.

Sunrisers Hyderabad squad:

Retained: Basil Thampi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Hooda, Manish Pandey, T Natarajan, Ricky Bhui, Sandeep Sharma, Siddarth Kaul, Shreevats Goswami (wk), Khaleel Ahmed, Yusuf Pathan, Billy Stanlake, David Warner, Kane Williamson, Rashid Khan, Mohammad Nabi, Shakib Al Hasan

Released: Sachin Baby, Tanmay Agarwal, Wriddhiman Saha, Chris Jordan, Carlos Brathwaite, Alex Hales, Bipul Sharma, Mehdi Hasan, Shikhar Dhawan (traded to Delhi Daredevils for Abhishek Sharma, Vijay Shankar, Shahbaz Nadeem)

LOVED it? LIKE it!

This article was first published on CricketTimes.com.
For latest cricket news and updates, visit https://crickettimes.com or follow us on Google News.

Share it with a Cricket fan!

Rashpal is a T20 commentator at home and passionate traveler. He loves writing about cricket during his free time. You can write to him at rash2007johar@gmail.com or get in touch with him on facebook.

Play Now: 2048 - ICC World Cup 2019 Edition
Play Now: 2048 - ICC World Cup 2019 Edition