WATCH: KL Rahul becomes victim of the line-ball stumping call

India’s top order batsman KL Rahul was given out stumped in the first T20I against Australia after lengthy deliberation by third umpire Gerard Abood.

KL Rahul became the victim of the line-ball stumping call that sparked a collapse of 3-24, in which he and Indian skipper Virat Kohli also departed, in the series-opener at The Gabba.


Chasing 174 from 17 overs in the rain-hit contest in Brisbane, India fell short by 4 runs.

KL Rahul’s stumping decision

KL Rahul lost his balance when he aimed a lunging cover drive off a wide leg-break from Adam Zampa, with wicketkeeper Alex Carey whipping off the bails.


Rahul’s back foot had come out of his crease but he lunged back to try and make his ground.
TV replays showed his foot was on the white line but the likes of Adam Gilchrist on commentary for Fox Cricket struggled to tell if any part of Rahul’s foot was on the turf behind the paint.

The third umpire finally deemed that no part of Rahul’s foot was grounded behind the crease. Meanwhile, Rahul appeared calm as he walked off the ground.

As per the cricket law, a batter must have something grounded beyond the paint to be safe.

LOVED it? LIKE it!




This article was first published on CricketTimes.com.
For latest cricket news and updates, visit https://crickettimes.com or follow us on Google News.

Share it with a Cricket fan!

Rashpal is a T20 commentator at home and passionate traveler. He loves writing about cricket during his free time. You can write to him at rash2007johar@gmail.com or get in touch with him on facebook.




Play Now: 2048 - ICC World Cup 2019 Edition
Play Now: 2048 - ICC World Cup 2019 Edition