Windies skipper Carlos Brathwaite lost his composure and cool as he was seen having an animated discussion with the on-field umpires after a controversial decision during the third and final T20I between Bangladesh and West Indies in Dhaka.
While officiating in an international match, local umpire Tanvir Ahmed called Windies pacer Oshane Thomas deliveries no-ball when his foot was well inside the line.
It was surprising to see the standard of umpiring which has nothing less than shoddy.
In the final ball of the fourth over by Oshane Thomas, Liton Das mistimed the ball and the fielder took a simple catch. On-field umpire gave it not-out and called it a no-ball. Meanwhile, Brathwaite and the other Windies players weren’t satisfied with the decision and felt that the ball was legal and Das was wrongly given not-out.
Immediately after, Brathwaite asked for the Decision Review System (DRS) and it was sent upstairs to third umpire Gazi Sohel. Replays showed that Thomas’ foot landed inside the bowling crease and he was indeed out. The decision was reversed, but the batsman stood his ground.
In the meantime, Brathwaite lost his cool and was seen having a heated conversation near the boundary ropes. Then, Jeff Crowe, the match referee came down to solve the matter. Even Bangladesh captain Shakib Al Hasan came out to have a chat, wearing his helmet.
As per the law, one can use the DRS for a mode of dismissal, but in this scenario, the decision was reviewed for the call of no-ball to be overturned. The decision eventually stood and the batsman got a much-needed reprieve.
Here’s the video: