ICC announces the women’s ODI team of the year 2018

Posted On / /
ICC announces the women’s ODI team of the year 2018

The International Cricket Council on Monday announced the women’s ODI team of the year with New Zealand’s Suzie Bates named as captain of the 50-over side.

Bates’ appointment as the ODI skipper is a recognition of her contribution in inspiring her side to the second position in the ICC Women’s Championship after three rounds.

In the seven ODIs this calendar year, Bates has scored 438 runs with two centuries and a half-century. She is currently ranked seventh in the ICC Women’s Players Rankings for ODI Batters.

The 11-member women’s ODI side comprises players from seven countries, including two each from England (Tammy Beaumont and Sophie Ecclestone), India (Smriti Mandhana and Poonam Yadav), New Zealand (Suzie Bates and Sophie Devine) and South Africa (Dane van Niekerk and Marizanne Kapp), and one player each from Australia (Alyssa Healy), Pakistan (Sana Mir) and Deandra Dottin (the Windies).

The voting academy consisted of Melinda Farrell, Melanie Jones, Lisa Sthalekar (all Australia), Charlotte Edwards, Kalika Mehta (both England), Anjum Chopra, Snehal Pradhan (both India), Lesley Murdoch (New Zealand), Urooj Mumtaz (Pakistan), Natalie Germanos (South Africa), Alan Wilkins (Wales) Ian Bishop (West Indies).

ICC Women’s ODI Team of the Year (in batting order):

  1. Smriti Mandhana (India)
  2. Tammy Beaumont (England)
  3. Suzie Bates (New Zealand – captain)
  4. Dane van Niekerk (South Africa)
  5. Sophie Devine (New Zealand)
  6. Alyssa Healy (Australia – wicketkeeper)
  7. Marizanne Kapp (South Africa)
  8. Deandra Dottin (Windies)
  9. Sana Mir (Pakistan)
  10. Sophie Ecclestone (England)
  11. Poonam Yadav (India)

TAGS: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

CATEGORY: Dane van Niekerk, Featured, India, New Zealand, News, ODI, Players, Smriti Mandhana, South Africa, Suzie Bates, Teams

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Weekly Newsletter.

About the Author:
Anirudh is a die-hard cricket fan, loves playing, watching and talking about cricket. Cricket is his Religion & 'Sachin Tendulkar' his GOD. His motto of life is Eat, Sleep, Cricket, REPEAT!! You can write to him at anirudh@crickettimes.com or anirudhsingh2904@gmail.com and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.