Ravichandran Ashwin

India name 13-man squad for the Perth Test

in Blog/Featured/India/Players/Ravichandran Ashwin/Rohit Sharma/Teams

India has named a 13-man team for the second Test against Australia starting on Friday, which is set to be played on a fast and bouncy Perth Stadium wicket.

Virat Kohli and the team management was forced into at least two changes to the winning XI from the first Test in Adelaide after injuries ruled out Ravichandran Ashwin and Rohit Sharma for the second match in Perth.

Ravindra Jadeja and Umesh Yadav have been included in the 13-member squad announced a day before the game.

“Ashwin has a left-sided abdominal strain. He is receiving treatment at the moment. He has been ruled out of the second Test,” a Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) statement said.

“Rohit Sharma jarred his lower back while fielding in the first Test at Adelaide. He is undergoing treatment. He too is ruled out of the second Test,” it added.

The BCCI also said that teenage opener Prithvi Shaw is recovering well from his left ankle injury but still undergoing treatment. Shaw too will be out of the Perth Test.

India squad for the Perth Test:

Virat Kohli (c), Murali Vijay, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vc), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav.

This article was first published on CricketTimes.com.
For latest cricket news and updates, visit https://crickettimes.com.

Share it with a Cricket fan!