New Zealand team announces 13 member squad for the upcoming Test series against Sri Lanka

Posted On / /

After defeating Pakistan last week in the test series, Kane Williamson and squad are now up against Sri Lanka. Both teams will play two tests before the ODI and T20I series. The first match of the series will begin on Dec 15th, 2018.

Yesterday, the New Zealand team announced the 13 member squad for the test series. Off-spinner William Somerville has not been included. The management has decided to go with one specialist spinner in the form of Ajaz Patel. New names include Will Young, an opening batsman who scored a century against India A earlier this year.

Meanwhile, the Sri Lankan team appointed former Australian cricketer Steve Rixon as their fielding coach. He would be joining the team in New Zealand.


  • 1st Test, Wellington, 15th – 19th Dec 2018
  • 2nd Test, Christchurch, 26th – 30th Dec 2018

New Zealand Squad:

Kane Williamson (capt), BJ Watling (wk), Tom Latham, Jeet Raval, Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, Colin de Grandhomme, Will Young, Tim Southee, Matt Henry, Ajaz Patel, Trent Boult, Neil Wagner

TAGS: , , ,

CATEGORY: Kane Williamson, New Zealand, News, Sri Lanka, Test Match

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Anirudh is a die-hard cricket fan, loves playing, watching and talking about cricket. Cricket is his Religion & 'Sachin Tendulkar' his GOD. His motto of life is Eat, Sleep, Cricket, REPEAT!! You can write to him at or and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.