Even though the West Indies beat Bangladesh by 50 runs in the third T20I to clinch the series 2-1, cricketer experts and fans on Twitter were rather unhappy that a close decision didn’t go in the visitors’ favour.
It was the final delivery of the fourth over of Bangladesh’s chase, when Oshane Thomas had Liton Das caught at mid-off, only to be called a no-ball by umpire Tanvir Ahmed.
Replays showed that the umpire was wrong in his judgement, as Thomas’ foot was behind the popping crease.
Windies skipper Carlos Brathwaite seemed livid on watching it on the big screen, and insisted on using the DRS to review it. After animated discussions, the umpires allowed him to take it upstairs, and umpire Ahmed, after discussion on his walkie-talkie, signalled Das out as well.
However, the fourth umpire and match referee Jeff Crowe were quick to step in, calling Brathwaite to the boundary for another discussion, this time joined by the Windies team management and Bangladeshi skipper, Shakib Al Hasan, following which Das was reinstated and a free-hit was signalled.
The commentator on-air, Gautam Bhimani, soon cleared the air on the matter reading out a statement from the third umpire, which stated that “the very fact that the onfield umpire called a no ball is the decision of the onfield umpire and has to be accepted as an error and CANNOT be reviewed”.
Here’s how Twitter reacted:
What an interesting turn of events. No ball called on field, but it is a fair delivery as the replays suggest. Batsman skies it in the air,gets caught. Decision stands ! Thoughts ? #WIvBAN
— Abhinav Mukund (@mukundabhinav) December 22, 2018
We have umpires not calling no balls when bowlers overstep and we also have umpires calling no balls when bowlers don't overstep. #BANvWI
— Moulin (@Moulinparikh) December 22, 2018
Serves the BCB right. They have let local umpiring go to the dogs in the last 5 years, for their own benefit. Now, the whole world is seeing the shocking levels of some Bangladeshi umpires.
— Mohammad Isam (@Isam84) December 22, 2018
Umpiring has been horrible. And you can't review since it is not out. Should refer to third umpire. At the end right decision is more important than proving on field umpire right.#BANvWI
— Nikhil 🏏 (@CricCrazyNIKS) December 22, 2018
When a batting team takes a review and no-ball is checked, the same should be applicable to the bowling team. This is unfair #BANvWI
— Abhinav Sundaram (@LotOfGarbageOut) December 22, 2018
Worst ICC rules. No ball cannot be checked if on field umpire called as a no ball by error. #BANvWI
— Abhi Says (@urstrulyCHAR) December 22, 2018
@ICC Please for some Spirit of the game make laws for no balls and also make the fielding team some Reviews for challenging the no ball call… please help these errors be taken out…#BANvWI @BCCI @BCBtigers @windiescricket @bhogleharsha @alanwilkins22
— Yash Goyal (@yashgoyal143) December 22, 2018
— Dr. AJ (@DarrKeAage) December 22, 2018
— ayadav (@ayadav1210) December 22, 2018
BCB umpire outright cheating. Cheaters always feel all others cheat. Classic example here. And by the way the umpire called no ball twice in the over which were legal deliveries #BANvWI
— Proxima Centauri (@ProximaCent1) December 22, 2018
WHats wrong with this umpire lol
— Al Prince (@Al_prince19) December 22, 2018
— Roman chowdhury (@Roman_Chowdhury) December 22, 2018
Sad sad sad…. Worse piece of Umpiring and Sports man spirit from Bangladeshi team….. RIP#BANvWI
— Sohail Malik 🇵🇰 (@Sohail_malik112) December 22, 2018
Atrocious! The umpiring standards in the #BANvWI T20I series has been consistently “Atrocious” to say the least. What I find funny is, all these ridiculous decisions have gone in favour of Bangladesh. Coincidence? Something fishy? @ICC, this is bringing the game to disrepute.
— Ravi Chikkonti (@rchikkonti89) December 22, 2018
Poor Umpiring! Umpires have been very poor regarding No Ball. If the same thing happens in WC Final on the last ball? Right decision can't be made only to respect On Field Umpires? Such a shame! This is poor that we can't use technology in proper way despite having it.#BANvWI pic.twitter.com/v6CY5OaKtN
— TUSHAR 🏏 (@mainlycricket) December 22, 2018