Indian captain Virat Kohli came out to bat when his side was reeling at 8/2 in their first innings after both the opening batsmen failed to make an impact.
The Indian talisman steadied the innings by stitching three half-century partnerships with Chesteswara Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, and Hanuma Vihari.
On a pitch which offered assistance to bowlers, Kohli was outstanding before he got dismissed for 123 just at the stroke of lunch after a close call from the umpire.
However, Kohli’s dismissal was quite a controversial one and got a lot of people talking. In the final delivery of the 93rd over, the ball took the edge of the bat after a loose drive outside off by Kohli. The ball flew towards Peter Handscomb at second slip, who had to dive in front to complete the catch.
It was impossible to judge the dismissal by the naked eye and hence the on-field umpires decided to refer it upstairs. By doing so, the soft signal given by the umpires was ‘out’. Hence, the third-umpire felt that there was not enough evidence to overturn the decision.
Well, on closer viewing, it seems like the ball did touch the ground before going into Handscomb’s hands.
Here’s the video:
— Fox Cricket (@FoxCricket) December 16, 2018