Ambati Rayudu

Ambati Rayudu reported for suspect bowling action

in Ambati Rayudu/Blog/Featured/India/ODI/Players/Teams

India’s Ambati Rayudu has been reported with a suspect bowling action during the first ODI against Australia in Sydney on Saturday.

The part-time off-spinner now has to get his action tested within 14 days, but can continue bowling in international cricket until the results are known.


Rayudu bowled two overs during the Sydney ODI – the 22nd and the 24th in which he gave 13 runs and took no wickets. His action had drawn comparisons with Sri Lankan great Muttiah Muralitharan, who himself had been pulled up by match officials for suspect bowling action a number of points in his career.

According to the ICC rules, an illegal bowling action is defined as where the player’s elbow extends by the amount of more than ’15 degrees between their arm reaching the horizontal and the ball being released.’

“The match officials’ report, which was handed over to the India team management, cited concerns about the legality of the 33-year-old off-spinner’s bowling action,” an ICC release read.

“Rayudu’s bowling action will now be scrutinised further under the ICC process relating to suspected illegal bowling actions reported in Tests, ODIs and T20Is.

“He is required to undergo testing within 14 days, and, during this period, Rayudu is permitted to continue bowling in international cricket until the results of the testing are known,” the ICC report further added.



This article was first published on CricketTimes.com.
For latest cricket news and updates, visit https://crickettimes.com.

Share it with a Cricket fan!