India, England dominate ICC ODI team of the year 2018

Posted On / /
India, England dominate ICC ODI team of the year 2018

Indian talisman Virat Kohli has been named captain of the ICC ODI team of the year 2018. India and England players dominated the ODI XI with four each from the two cricket crazy nations.

Along with Kohli, his teammates Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah and Kuldeep Yadav has also been named in the ODI team of the year 2018. Kohli, who led India to nine wins in 14 games as captain is a perfect fit to lead the illustrious XI.

Kohli had a tremendous 2018 as he slammed 1202 runs at a staggering average of 133.55 in 14 ODI matches. He was at the forefront of India’s success in limited-overs cricket last year.

Kohli led India to magnificent 4-1 ODI series win over South Africa at the start of the year before following it up with success in the home series against West Indies. India defeated Windies 3-1 in the ODI series at home before flooring Australia in their own backyard recently.

Rohit, who had a stellar year with the bat has also been named in the XI. The prolific right-hander scored 1030 runs in 19 innings at a brilliant average of 73.57.

Among the bowlers, Bumrah and Kuldeep, who were phenomenal throughout the year for Team India, made the cut. While Kuldeep finished as the second highest wicket-taker of the year with 45 wickets, Bumrah scalped 22 wickets in 13 games in 2018.

Joe Root, Jonny Bairstow, Jos Buttler and Ben Stokes are the four English players to feature in the ODI team of the year 2018. Afghanistan star spinner Rashid Khan with 48 wickets to his name was the highest wicket-taker in ODIs in 2018 and made the cut in the final XI. New Zealand veteran Ross Taylor and Bangladesh pacer Mustafizur Rahman also feature in the list.

Rohit Sharma: 1030 runs from 19 innings at an average of 73.57 and strike-rate of 100.09.

Jonathan Bairstow: 1025 runs in 22 innings at an average of 46.59 and strike-rate of 118.22.

Virat Kohli: 1202 runs in 14 ODIs, scoring 1202 runs – including six centuries and three fifties at an average of 133.55.

Joe Root: 946 runs from 24 innings at an average of 59.12 and a strike-rate of 83.93, including three centuries and five fifties.

Ross Taylor: 639 runs from just 10 innings at an average of 91.28 while striking at 88.87.

Jos Buttler: 671 runs at an average of 51.61 and a strike-rate of 113.53.

Ben Stokes: 313 runs at an average of 44.71, including three fifties from just 10 innings. He also took 5 wickets in 11 innings at an economy rate of 5.91.

Mustafizur Rahman: He picked up 29 wickets at an average of 21.72, including the 10 wickets he bagged in the Asia Cup 2018 at the rate of 18.50.

Rashid Khan: He ended 2018 as the leading wicket-taker in ODIs, with a total of 48 scalps at 14.45. His excellence can be understood with the fact that he conceded runs at an economy rate of only 3.89.

Kuldeep Yadav: He picked up 45 wickets from his 19 matches at 17.77, finishing only behind Rashid in the list of top wicket-takers in the format.

Jasprit Bumrah: Fourth Indian in the list, his 13 innings in the year earned him a rich haul of 22 wickets at 16.63. His economy rate of 3.62 is the lowest for a bowler with at least 20 scalps.

ICC ODI team of the year 2018:

Rohit Sharma, Jonny Bairstow, Virat Kohli, Joe Root, Ross Taylor, Jos Buttler, Ben Stokes, Mustafizur Rahman, Rashid Khan, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah.

TAGS: , ,

CATEGORY: Featured, India, News, ODI, Teams, Virat Kohli

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author: provides Latest Cricket News, Live Scores, Schedule, Results, ICC Rankings, Stats, and Videos. Write to us at