MS Dhoni gets an illegal run against Australia in second ODI at the Adelaide Oval

Every single run matters, as goes the saying in cricket and it wasn’t much different in the second ODI between Australia and India at the Adelaide Oval.


The Men in Blue won the match by 6 wickets with skipper Virat Kohli and former captain MS Dhoni leading the run-chase from the front.

However, a footage has now surfaced suggesting that Dhoni had failed to complete what looked to be a regulation single.


On the final ball of the 45th over, Dhoni pushed the ball to long-on and trotted to the other end. The umpire called the over complete and the match carried on.

It looked to be completely accidental as India veteran great failed to get his bat or feet over the crease, turning on his heel just short of the line and heading back to the middle of the pitch to chat to his batting partner.

Umpires were completely unaware of the technically illegal act, which should have resulted in India being docked one run.

There was no suggestion that Dhoni failed to make his ground intentionally – which can result in five penalty runs being taken from the batting side – but it was still a strange moment.

In the end it didn’t make a difference, with Dhoni getting his side home with four balls remaining.

Here’s the video:

LOVED it? LIKE it!



This article was first published on CricketTimes.com.
For latest cricket news and updates, visit https://crickettimes.com or follow us on Google News.

Share it with a Cricket fan!

Anirudh is a die-hard cricket fan, loves playing, watching and talking about cricket. Cricket is his Religion & 'Sachin Tendulkar' his GOD. His motto of life is Eat, Sleep, Cricket, REPEAT!! You can write to him at anirudhsingh2904@gmail.com or get in touch with him on twitter.