IPL 2019 schedule for first two weeks announced

Posted On / /
IPL 2019 schedule for first two weeks announced

The Indian Premier League (IPL) schedule for the first two weeks of the 12th edition has been announced but it will be further assessed when the Lok Sabha polling schedule is released.

As per the schedule released by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), the IPL begins on March 23 with defending champions Chennai Super Kings (CSK) hosting Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) in Chennai.

“IPL released the schedule of the first two weeks (17 matches) of the 2019 Season. These are still subject to the announcement of the Lok Sabha 2019 election dates. Once these have been released BCCI will address any issues with the first two weeks and will also prepare a schedule for the remainder of the season working with the local authorities around the polling dates,” an IPL media release read.

The current schedule sees 17 matches across the fortnight period with 8 venues of the eight franchises.

Delhi Capitals (DC) and RCB will play five matches during this period with the rest playing four matches each. All teams will play a minimum of two home and away games while DC and RCB will be at home at Feroz Shah Kotla and M Chinnaswamy thrice respectively.

“A total of 17 matches will be played during this 2 weeks period across the 8 home venues of the respective franchises. All teams will play a minimum of 4 matches with DC and RCB playing 5 matches. Every team will play a minimum of 2 home and 2 away matches with DC playing 3 home matches, while RCB will play 3 away matches,” added the release.

In the two-week schedule, March 24 and March 31 will be the only days featuring double-headers. On March 24, Kolkata Knight Riders will host Sunrisers Hyderabad at 4 pm in Kolkata while Mumbai Indians will face-off against Delhi Capitals at 8 pm in Mumbai.

While on March 31, Sunrisers Hyderabad will face RCB in the afternoon fixture in Hyderabad while CSK will host Rajasthan Royals in the 8 pm fixture in Chennai.

Check out the complete schedule


TAGS: , , , , , , , , ,

CATEGORY: Chennai Super Kings, Delhi Capitals, India, IPL, Kolkata Knight Riders, Mumbai Indians, News, Punjab Kings, Rajasthan Royals, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Sunrisers Hyderabad, T20, Teams

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Weekly Newsletter.

About the Author:
Anirudh is a die-hard cricket fan, loves playing, watching and talking about cricket. Cricket is his Religion & 'Sachin Tendulkar' his GOD. His motto of life is Eat, Sleep, Cricket, REPEAT!! You can write to him at anirudh@crickettimes.com or anirudhsingh2904@gmail.com and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.