IPL 2019: Delhi Capitals Team – Players, Support Staff, Schedule and Stats

Posted On / /

Formerly known as ‘Delhi Daredevils’, the franchise has a new name this season. After Gautam Gambhir stepped down from captaincy in the middle of the last season, right-hander batsman Shreyas Iyer took charge of the side.

Indian opener Shikhar Dhawan and pacer Ishant Sharma have joined the franchise. Delhi Capitals also purchased left-arm spinner Axar Patel for INR 5 crore in the auction.

It is definitely a young side, but with great support staff in the form of Ricky Ponting, Mohammad Kaif, and Sourav Ganguly.

Also READ: Sourav Ganguly picks his Indian squad for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019

The franchise doesn’t hold a good record in IPL as they never even qualified for the finals. But with some key additions to the squad, the franchise will hope to have change things this time.

Owners: Kiran Kumar Grandhi (GMR Group) and Parth Jindal (JSW Group)

Home ground: Feroz Shah Kotla, New Delhi


Shreyas Iyer (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant, Prithvi Shaw, Colin Munro, Ankush Bains, Colin Ingram, Axar Patel, Harshal Patel, Manjot Kalra, Chris Morris, Keemo Paul, Sherfane Rutherford, Jalaj Saxena, Amit Mishra, Rahul Tewatia, Sandeep Lamichhane, Trent Boult, Kagiso Rabada, Avesh Khan, Ishant Sharma, Nathu Singh, Bandaru Ayyappa

Support Staff:

Head Coach: Ricky Ponting
Assistant Coach: Mohammad Kaif
Talent Scout: Pravin Amre
Fast Bowling Coach: James Hopes
Advisor: Sourav Ganguly


Matches played: 161
Matches won: 67
Winning rate: 42.45%

Title won: 0

Most runs: Shikhar Dhawan (4058 runs)
Most wickets: Amit Mishra (146 wickets)


Sunday, March 24

8 pm IST: Mumbai Indians vs Delhi Capitals in Mumbai

Tuesday, March 26

8 pm IST: Delhi Capitals vs Chennai Super Kings in Delhi

Saturday, March 30

8 pm IST: Delhi Capitals vs Kolkata Knight Riders in Delhi

Monday, April 1

8 pm IST: Kings XI Punjab vs Delhi Capitals in Mohali

Thursday, April 4

8 pm IST: Delhi Capitals vs Sunrisers Hyderabad in Delhi

Sunday, April 7

4 pm IST: Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Delhi Capitals in Bengaluru

Friday, April 12

8 pm IST: Kolkata Knight Riders vs Delhi Capitals in Kolkata

Sunday, April 14

8 pm IST: Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Delhi Capitals in Hyderabad

Thursday, April 18

8 pm IST: Delhi Capitals vs Mumbai Indians in Delhi

Saturday, April 20

8 pm IST: Delhi Capitals vs Kings XI Punjab in Delhi

Monday, April 22

8 pm IST: Rajasthan Royals vs Delhi Capitals in Jaipur

Sunday, April 28

4 pm IST: Delhi Capitals vs Royal Challengers Bangalore in Delhi

Wednesday, May 1

8 pm IST: Chennai Super Kings vs Delhi Capitals in Chennai

Saturday, May 4

4 pm IST: Delhi Capitals vs Rajasthan Royals in Delhi

TAGS: , ,

CATEGORY: Delhi Capitals, Featured, IPL, News, T20

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Anirudh is a die-hard cricket fan, loves playing, watching and talking about cricket. Cricket is his Religion & 'Sachin Tendulkar' his GOD. His motto of life is Eat, Sleep, Cricket, REPEAT!! You can write to him at anirudh@crickettimes.com or anirudhsingh2904@gmail.com and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.