IPL 2019: Sam Curran claims 18th hat-trick in the IPL; here’s the list of remaining seventeen

Posted On / /

English all-rounder Sam Curran dismissed Harshal Patel (0), Kagiso Rabada (0) and Sandeep Lamichhane (0) to claim the first hat-trick of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2019 and overall 18th hat-trick in the tournament’s history.

With figures of 4-11, the 20-year old powered Kings XI Punjab to a 14-run victory over Delhi Capitals.

In the final ball of the 18th over, Patel edged one to the KXIP wicket-keeper KL Rahul off Curran. The left-armer returned for the final over with Delhi Capitals needing 15 runs off 6 balls. He bowled two back-to-back yorkers to send Kagiso Rabada, Sandeep Lamichhane’s stumps flying and sealed the win for his side.

Sam Curran was named ‘Man of the Match’ for his efforts and he said he had no idea that he had taken a hat-trick.

“I didn’t really know about the hat-trick, the crowd was so loud, I couldn’t hear myself thinking,” Curran said after receiving the MoM award from Kalli Purie, Vice-Chairperson of the India Today Group.

Here is the complete list of Hat-tricks in the IPL:

  1. Laxmipathy Balaji (Chennai Super Kings) vs Kings XI Punjab – 2008
  2. Amit Mishra (Delhi Daredevils) vs Deccan Chargers – 2008
  3. Makhaya Ntini (Chennai Super Kings) vs Kolkata Knight Riders – 2008
  4. Yuvraj Singh (Kings XI Punjab) vs Royal Challengers Bangalore – 2009
  5. Rohit Sharma (Deccan Chargers) vs Mumbai Indians – 2009
  6. Yuvraj Singh (Kings XI Punjab) vs Deccan Chargers – 2009
  7. Praveen Kumar (Royal Challengers Bangalore) vs  Rajasthan Royals – 2010
  8. Amit Mishra (Deccan Chargers) vs Kings XI Punjab – 2011
  9. Ajit Chandila (Rajasthan Royals) vs Pune Warriors India – 2012
  10. Sunil Narine (Kolkata Knight Riders) vs Kings XI Punjab – 2013
  11. Amit Mishra (Sun Risers Hyderabad) vs Pune Warriors India  – 2013
  12. Pravin Tambe (Rajasthan Royals) vs Kolkata Knight Riders – 2014
  13. Shane Watson (Rajasthan Royals) vs Sunrisers Hyderabad – 2014
  14. Axar Patel (Kings XI Punjab) vs Gujarat Lions – 2016
  15. Samuel Badree (Royal Challengers Bangalore) vs Mumbai Indians – 2017
  16. Andrew Tye (Gujarat Lions) vs Rising Pune Supergiant – 2017
  17. Jaydev Unadkat (Rising Pune Supergiant) vs Sunrisers Hyderabad – 2017
  18. Sam Curran (KXIP) vs Delhi Capitals – 2019

TAGS: , , , ,

CATEGORY: IPL, Kings XI Punjab, Sam Curran

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Anirudh is a die-hard cricket fan, loves playing, watching and talking about cricket. Cricket is his Religion & 'Sachin Tendulkar' his GOD. His motto of life is Eat, Sleep, Cricket, REPEAT!! You can write to him at anirudh@crickettimes.com or anirudhsingh2904@gmail.com and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.