During the 45th match of the IPL 2019 between Rajasthan Royals (RR) and SunRisers Hyderabad (SRH) at the Sawai Mansingh stadium in Jaipur, SRH top-order batsman Manish Pandey was dismissed both caught behind and stumped on the same delivery by RR wicketkeeper Sanju Samson.
It all happened on the final ball of the 15th over of the first innings bowled by Shreyas Gopal. It was the wrong one from Gopal and Pandey was cramped for room as he looked to guide the ball towards the third man region and fell slightly off balance in the process. The ball went through to Samson, who had his right leg outstretched anticipating the late cut from Pandey but managed to grab the ball easily. Pandey however lost his balance in the process of attempting the shot, lost his footing ever so slightly and it was all Samson needed to complete the stumping.
Samson waited perfectly for Pandey’s foot to be raised before dislodging the bails within the blink of an eye. The decision was referred to the third umpire and after few replays ‘out’ was being displayed on the giant screen. The ball had kissed the bat on the way on its way through to the wicket-keeper’s gloves and there was a big spike on ultraedge to confirm the same.
Here’s the video:
— CricBoll (@mycricboll) April 27, 2019
Meanwhile, RR managed to keep their playoffs hopes alive in this edition’s IPL. The team, led by Steve Smith, came out firing on all cylinders and defeated SRH by seven wickets on Saturday. With their sixth defeat, the Orange Army is now in requisite of winning all their remaining for matches.