South Africa’s 15-man squad for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 announced

Posted On / /

The Proteas selectors announced their 15-man squad for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 on Thursday.

Hashim Amla’s potential exclusion had been a major talking point ahead of Thursday’s squad announcement at the SuperSport studios in Johannesburg, but in the end selection convenor Linda Zondi and his team felt that the right decision was to back one of the greatest white ball batsmen the Proteas has ever produced.

Reeza Hendricks was the man who ultimately missed out because of Amla’s inclusion.

The rest of the squad was named without any surprises.

Fast bowlers Lungi Ngidi and Anrich Nortje are both included having recovered from their respective injuries, while JP Duminy is also in as he continues to work of getting his troublesome shoulder pain-free ahead of the mega event.

Andile Phehlukwayo and Dwaine Pretorius are the two specialist all-rounders, while South Africa will go in with two spinners in Imran Tahir and Tabraiz Shamsi.

There is no backup wicketkeeper in the Proteas side, with David Miller expected to fill that role if Quinton de Kock cannot keep wickets for whatever reason.

South Africa will begin their 2019 World Cup campaign against hosts England at The Oval on May 30.

South Africa’s squad for the 2019 ICC Cricket World Cup:

Faf du Plessis (c), Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock, JP Duminy, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Dale Steyn, Imran Tahir, Rassie van der Dussen.


CATEGORY: News, South Africa, World Cup

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Anirudh is a die-hard cricket fan, loves playing, watching and talking about cricket. Cricket is his Religion & 'Sachin Tendulkar' his GOD. His motto of life is Eat, Sleep, Cricket, REPEAT!! You can write to him at or and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.