Virat Kohli proud as India retain ICC Test championship mace for third consecutive year

Posted On / /
Virat Kohli proud as India retain ICC Test championship mace for third consecutive year

The International Cricket Council (ICC), on Monday, announced that Virat Kohli-led India have won the ICC Test Championship mace and prize money of $1 million after finishing as the No. 1 Test team on the cut-off date of April 1. Kane Williamson-led New Zealand finished second on the ICC Test team rankings.

Notably, India have won the ICC Test championship mace for the third consecutive year after their dominant performances both at home and overseas.

India is now looking forward to the ICC Test Championship that will be played between 2019 and 2023. “Retaining the ICC Test Championship Mace once again is something we are all really proud of. Our team has been doing well across formats but it gives us extra pleasure to come out on top of the Test rankings,” the proud Indian skipper Virat Kohli said.

“We all know of the importance of Test cricket and of how only the best can prosper in the format,” he added.

“Our team has a lot of depth and I am sure this will stand us in good stead once the ICC World Test Championship commences later this year. That is again something we are really looking forward to as it adds more context to Test match cricket.”

Congratulating Team India on their achievement, ICC Chief Executive Manu Sawhney said: “I congratulate India on retaining the ICC Test Championship Mace and appreciate the passion Virat Kohli’s team has shown across formats over the past few years. It takes so much dedication and determination to consistently perform at the highest level in Test cricket.”

India have been one of the most consistent Test playing nations over the last three years. Despite being on the road extensively for the last one year, India have been able to retain the top spot in the ICC Test rankings.

In January this year, Kohli created history with a 2-1 series win over Australia in their own backyard as he became the first-ever Indian captain to win a series Down Under.

TAGS: , ,

CATEGORY: India, Virat Kohli

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author: provides Latest Cricket News, Live Scores, Schedule, Results, ICC Rankings, Stats, and Videos. Write to us at