IPL 2019: Cricketing world reacts as Mumbai Indians beat Chennai Super Kings in last ball thriller to lift their 4th IPL trophy

Posted On

Mumbai Indians (MI) defeated Chennai Super Kings (CSK) in a thrilling encounter by one run to lift their 4th Indian Premier League (IPL) trophy.

Needing nine to win off six balls, CSK’s star performer Shane Watson (80 off 59) got run out. Thereafter, veteran Lasith Malinga became the saviour for MI as he bowled tight lines to turn the tide in his side’s favour.

However, at one point CSK were cruising but MI bowlers took wickets in quick succession to bring their side back in the match. The biggest turning of the match was probably the runout of CSK skipper MS Dhoni from where the Men in Yellow didn’t recover completely. But Shane Watson brought them back in the game when he dispatched Krunal Pandya for three sixes in the 18th over. Jasprit Bumrah bowled a brilliant 19th over wherein he gave just nine runs.

Earlier, MI skipper Rohit Sharma won the toss and elected to bat first in the big final against the defending champions. Quinton de Kock (29 off 17) and Rohit Sharma (15 off 14) gave MI a solid start. De Kock was more explosive of the two batsmen and struck three sixes off Deepak Chahar in the fourth over of their innings. He, though, fell in the very next over off the bowling of Shardul Thakur.

Deepak Chahar came back strongly in his next over as he dismissed Rohit and put MI on the backfoot. Suryakumar Yadav and Ishan Kishan built a decent partnership and when things were looking good for them, they both fell in quick succession. ‘Birthday boy’ Kieron Pollard played a brilliant knock (unbeaten 41 off 25 balls) to help his side reach a respectable total of 149/8.

Here’s how Twitter reacted:

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Anirudh is a die-hard cricket fan, loves playing, watching and talking about cricket. Cricket is his Religion & 'Sachin Tendulkar' his GOD. His motto of life is Eat, Sleep, Cricket, REPEAT!! You can write to him at anirudh@crickettimes.com or anirudhsingh2904@gmail.com and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.