India won the toss and opted to bat first in their World Cup 2019 league match against West Indies at the Old Trafford in Manchester on Thursday.
Openers Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul made a watchful start until the West Indies team took a review for a caught behind in the 6th over of the match.
A length ball from Windies speedster Kemar Roach moved in sharply and went between Rohit’s inside edge and the pad. A huge appeal was made by the bowler but the on-field umpire turned it down and the Windies captain Jason Holder took the review.
There was a spike on UltraEdge and the third umpire Michael Gough was quick to deem it out. But was the spike off the bat or pad? Rohit was left shell-shocked as the on-field decision was reversed. He had no choice but to walk back on 18 shaking his head.
Just like Rohit, many were not convinced by the third umpire’s decision.
Full sun on the ball, in the picture, on the right frame. Ball has hit the pad not the bat. Technology making the world a clearer picture, NOT!
Rohit has to accept the umpires decision, ctrl+alt+delete!#cwc2019🏆… https://t.co/FXRgzrFcMv
— Brad Hogg (@Brad_Hogg) June 27, 2019
— subramani badrinath (@s_badrinath) June 27, 2019
— Anand Vasu (@anandvasu) June 27, 2019
Just curious, how is that conclusive evidence that the ball hit bat first and not the pad? There's enough doubt there, no? Shouldn't the umpire be sticking with the on-field decision?#INDvWI #CWC19 pic.twitter.com/Uu3YKS3a4Z
— Vinayakk (@vinayakkm) June 27, 2019
3 Rd umpire better run home when the last ball bowl
— Jofra Archer (@JofraArcher) May 10, 2014
Clearly touched the pad first but might have hit the bat too. But umpire was so quick to give Rohit out, should have looked in slow motion. Even the on field umpire was confused!! pic.twitter.com/pBVXoeTurx
— Mufaddal Vohra (@mufaddal_vohra) June 27, 2019
For once I'm not convinced by that third umpire decision. Rohit Sharma wasn't either.
— Joy Bhattacharjya (@joybhattacharj) June 27, 2019
— Gaurav Kalra (@gauravkalra75) June 27, 2019
Was there enough conclusive evidence to give Rohit caught-behind? I’m not so sure….but that’s strictly my opinion. Umpire giving it Not-Out is the equivalent of a soft-signal in this case…. #CWC19 #IndvWI
— Aakash Chopra (@cricketaakash) June 27, 2019