Rohit Sharma had to walk back early to the pavilion at the Old Trafford in Manchester during India’s World Cup fixture against West Indies on Thursday.
It was his second consecutive low score in the ongoing tournament but this time the dismissal left him disappointed as well.
The incident happened on the last delivery of the sixth over bowled by Windies pacer Kemar Roach. After going for a six and a boundary earlier, Roach responded with a peach of a length delivery that angled in and sneaked through Rohit’s bat and pad and carried to the wicket-keeper, Shai Hope.
There was a noise that was picked up by the stump mic but the on-field umpire, Richard Illingworth, paid no heed to the loud appeal made by the bowler. Convinced that they had got a wicket, the Windies side went for a DRS where the third umpire Michael Gough had to make the final decision.
The replays that were played on the big screen showed a spike on the UltraEdge and with “conclusive evidence” on the footage, the third umpire swiftly overturned the on-field umpire’s decision and ruled the Indian opener out.
Well, Rohit’s dismissal did not cost India much as they went on to beat West Indies by 125 runs. However, after the match, Rohit took a subtle dig at the third umpire’s decision through Twitter.
On his Twitter account, the Virat Kohli’s deputy posted a collage of pictures showing the moment when the ball went past the bat and it showed a big gap between the two. Rohit did not write anything but made his displeasure clear by posting two emojis.
— Rohit Sharma (@ImRo45) June 28, 2019
India, meanwhile, moved to the second spot in the points table and also continued their unbeaten run in the 2019 World Cup. Batting first, India rode on fifties from Virat Kohli and MS Dhoni to score 268 for 7. In reply, West Indies were bundled out for just 143 in 34.2 overs.