Ritika Sajdeh, Rohit Sharma

ICC World Cup 2019 – WATCH: Rohit Sharma’s contentious dismissal leaves wife Ritika Sajdeh shell-shocked

Another umpiring decision became a hot topic of debate at the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 when Indian opener Rohit Sharma was given out caught behind against West Indies at the Old Trafford in Manchester on Thursday.

In the 6th over of the match, Windies pacer Kemar Roach had Rohit in a bit of bother by breaching the gap between bat and pad. The good length delivery had Rohit split open as Roach went up in appeal.


With umpire ruling not out, West Indies captain Jason Holder sought another look by taking the DRS. On the replay, it appeared there was a spike on UltraEdge as the ball passed through. Third umpire Michael Gough didn’t take long or even a second look before making up his mind and choosing to reverse the decision by on-field umpire Richard Illingworth.

Justifiably, West Indies team celebrated the early strike. But Rohit was left shell-shocked with the third umpire’s decision and so was his wife Ritika Sajdeh in the stands as the camera panned to her.

Rohit has scored two centuries in the ongoing World Cup. In India’s first match of the tournament against South Africa, Rohit scored 122 runs to help his side beat the Proteas by 6 wickets. He then scored 57 runs against Australia and a magnificent 140 in the match against Pakistan. However, he had a disappointing outing against minnows Afghanistan where he managed just one run.

LOVED it? LIKE it!




This article was first published on CricketTimes.com.
For latest cricket news and updates, visit https://crickettimes.com or follow us on Google News.

Share it with a Cricket fan!

Anshu was born in a family of cricketers. She grew up playing and watching cricket. She loves writing about the Indian Premier League and Women Cricket. You can write to her at anshuoct1@gmail.com.




Play Now: 2048 - ICC World Cup 2019 Edition
Play Now: 2048 - ICC World Cup 2019 Edition