ICC World Cup 2019: Why Kane Williamson didn’t walk after edging the balls? Paul Adams sparks controversy

Posted On / /

New Zealand captain Kane Williamson might have emerged as the hero of the World Cup 2019 clash against South Africa in Birmingham, but questions are being raised by some on his integrity after he was given not-out at the score of 76 in the 38th over of the run-chase.

Williamson, later, scored an unbeaten 106 in the match as Black Caps registered a four-wicket victory.

Former South African spinner Paul Adams also took to Twitter and questioned as to “Why didn’t Kane Williamson walk?”, sharing a snapshot of the video showing an inside edge when the ball was caught behind by South African wicketkeeper Quinton de Kock off spinner Imran Tahir.

Only Tahir appealed against the inside edge of Williamson’s bat but was turned down by the umpire. Astonishingly South Africa didn’t review the decision.

Adams kept the heat on Williamson, later tweeting: “If Kane Williamson was Mankad after he didn’t walk would he be upset?”

His words, however, did not go down well with Williamson fans, who tweeted:

New Zealand have won praise for leading a healthier attitude to the game, dubbed the ‘spirit of cricket’, in recent years. But whether batsmen should walk or not when they know they are out – as Williamson would have – remains a complicated issue.

TAGS: , , , , , , ,

CATEGORY: Kane Williamson, New Zealand, News, South Africa, World Cup

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Anirudh is a die-hard cricket fan, loves playing, watching and talking about cricket. Cricket is his Religion & 'Sachin Tendulkar' his GOD. His motto of life is Eat, Sleep, Cricket, REPEAT!! You can write to him at anirudh@crickettimes.com or anirudhsingh2904@gmail.com and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.