India tour of West Indies 2019: BCCI announces squads for T20I and ODI series

Posted On / /

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Sunday announced the squad that will travel to West Indies for the upcoming limited-overs series, which starts from August 3. Virat Kohli, who was earlier speculated not to be a part of the team, will lead the side in both the formats.

While Hardik Pandya has been rested for the entire series, Mohammed Shami will only be available for the ODIs. Meanwhile, Shikhar Dhawan, who has recovered completely after sustaining an injury on his thumb, returns to the international circuit.

Rahul Chahar and Navdeep Saini are the new faces that have been included in the squad for the three T20 internationals.

Dinesh Karthik, who failed to make an impact in the recently-concluded World Cup, was left out from the squad. MS Dhoni also will not travel with the team and as per reports, the former Indian skipper has decided to spend the next two months with his army regiment.

The selection committee will take the Windies tour as an opportunity to groom the youngsters and would also look to solve their no. 4 conundrum.

Team India’s weak middle-order and lack of depth in the batting unit was exposed on numerous occasions during the 2019 World Cup. The Virat Kohli-side were eliminated from the showpiece event after going down against New Zealand in the semi-finals.

Here are the limited-overs squads of India for the West Indies tour:


Virat Kohli (c), Rohit Sharma (vc), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant (wk), Krunal Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Rahul Chahar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Khaleel Ahmed, Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini.


Virat Kohli (c), Rohit Sharma (vc), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kedar Jadhav, Mohammed Shami, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Khaleel Ahmed, Navdeep Saini.

TAGS: , , , , , , , , , ,

CATEGORY: Deepak Chahar, India, Khaleel Ahmed, News, ODI, Rahul Chahar, Shreyas Iyer, T20, Virat Kohli

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Anirudh is a die-hard cricket fan, loves playing, watching and talking about cricket. Cricket is his Religion & 'Sachin Tendulkar' his GOD. His motto of life is Eat, Sleep, Cricket, REPEAT!! You can write to him at or and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.