World Cup 2019: ICC responds to overthrow controversy that cost New Zealand the final match

Posted On / /
World Cup 2019: ICC responds to overthrow controversy that cost New Zealand the final match

The International Cricket Council, the governing body of the sport, has responded to the overthrow controversy during the final match of the World Cup 2019 between England and New Zealand at Lord’s on Sunday (July 14).

Six runs were added to England’s total on the third-last ball of its innings (before the super over) when a throw from the outfield hit Ben Stokes’ bat and deflected to the boundary for four overthrows as he completed a second run.

However, Stokes had not crossed with his batting partner Adil Rashid when Martin Guptill threw the ball.

The batsmen were nowhere near crossing when Guptill released his throw.

Law 19.8 claims the second run in progress should not have counted because the boundary resulted from a throw that had already been fired into the keeper before Stokes and Rashid crossed.

That means England should have been awarded five runs, not six.

Now, the ICC has finally responded, stating that it was against its policy to react on decisions taken by umpires.

“The umpires take decisions on the field with their interpretation of the rules and we don’t comment on any decisions as a matter of policy,” an ICC spokesperson was quoted as saying by

Former five-time ICC Umpire of the year and member of the MCC laws sub-committee, Simon Taufel has also admitted that the on-field officials got it wrong.

“It’s a clear mistake … it’s an error of judgment,” Taufel had said.

TAGS: , , , , , ,

CATEGORY: Ben Stokes, England, New Zealand, News, World Cup

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Anirudh is a die-hard cricket fan, loves playing, watching and talking about cricket. Cricket is his Religion & 'Sachin Tendulkar' his GOD. His motto of life is Eat, Sleep, Cricket, REPEAT!! You can write to him at or and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.