ICC announces the schedule for Women’s T20 World Cup Qualifier 2019

Posted On / /
ICC announces the schedule for Women’s T20 World Cup Qualifier 2019

International Cricket Council (ICC) on Thursday announced the complete schedule for the Women’s T20 World Cup Qualifier 2019.

Defending champions Bangladesh will take on Papua New Guinea (PNG) while last years runners-up Ireland will face Namibia in the opening game of the tournament.

Namibia was named as a replacement for banned Zimbabwe, having finished second in the Africa regional qualifiers earlier this year, while the Netherlands (Europe), PNG (East Asia-Pacific), Thailand (Asia) and the USA (Americas) made it after winning their respective qualifying events. Meanwhile, Scotland qualified as the host nation.

The eight participating teams are divided into two groups. The top two teams in each group will be the semifinalists; the winners of the two semifinals ensure a place at the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2020 to be held in Australia from February 21 to March 8 next year.

Bangladesh, Thailand, Scotland, and the USA form Group A, while Group B consists of Ireland, PNG, Namibia, and the Netherlands.

Each team also gets to play a warm-up match ahead of the start of the tournament.

Warm-up Matches

August 29:

Ireland v PNG (Forfarshire Cricket Club)

Bangladesh v Netherlands (Arbroath Sports Club)

Scotland v Namibia (Forfarshire Cricket Club)

Thailand v USA (Arbroath Sports Club)

Tournament Matches

August 31:

Bangladesh v PNG (Forfarshire Cricket Club)

Thailand v Netherlands (Arbroath Sports Club)

Scotland v USA (Forfarshire Cricket Club)

Namibia v Ireland (Arbroath Sports Club)

September 1:

Thailand v Namibia (Forfarshire Cricket Club)

Scotland v PNG (Arbroath Sports Club)

Ireland v Netherlands (Forfarshire Cricket Club)

USA v Bangladesh (Arbroath Sports Club)

September 3:

Ireland v Thailand (Forfarshire Cricket Club)

Netherlands v Namibia (Arbroath Sports Club)

Scotland v Bangladesh (Forfarshire Cricket Club)

PNG v USA (Arbroath Sports Club)

September 5:

A1 v B2 (Forfarshire Cricket Club)

B3 v A4 (Arbroath Sports Club)

B1 v A2 (Forfarshire Cricket Club)

A3 v B4 (Arbroath Sports Club)

September 7:

3rd v 4th Place Play-Off (Forfarshire Cricket Club)

7th v 8th Place Play-Off (Arbroath Sports Club)

Final (Forfarshire Cricket Club)

5th v 6th Place Play-Off (Arbroath Sports Club)

TAGS: , , ,

CATEGORY: ICC, News, T20, World Cup

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Anirudh is a die-hard cricket fan, loves playing, watching and talking about cricket. Cricket is his Religion & 'Sachin Tendulkar' his GOD. His motto of life is Eat, Sleep, Cricket, REPEAT!! You can write to him at anirudh@crickettimes.com or anirudhsingh2904@gmail.com and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.