BCCI announce schedule for forthcoming T20I series against Sri Lanka

Posted On / /
BCCI announce schedule for forthcoming T20I series against Sri Lanka

On Wednesday, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced the schedule for forthcoming Sri Lanka’s tour of India during January in 2020.

The BCCI has roped in Sri Lanka for the three-match T20I series in place of Zimbabwe, which has been suspended by the International Cricket Council (ICC).

“In the wake of Zimbabwe’s suspension by ICC, the BCCI invited Sri Lanka to participate in the three-match series,” BCCI said in a statement.

“Sri Lanka Cricket has confirmed their participation.”

The ICC suspended Zimbabwe Cricket on July 18 with immediate effect, saying that the Full Member had failed to prevent government intervention in the administration of sport in the country. The decision was taken at the ICC Annual Conference in London.

“The ICC Board unanimously decided that the Full Member had failed to fulfill their obligation to provide a process for free and democratic elections and to ensure that there is no government interference in its administration for cricket,” an ICC statement read.

Zimbabwe Cricket will not receive ICC funding, and the country’s teams will not be allowed to participate in ICC events until the suspension is lifted. Following the suspension of their cricket board, Zimbabwe’s participation in the men’s T20 World Cup qualifying tournament, starting in October this year is also doubtful.


  • January 5 – 1st T20I, Guwahati
  • January 7 – 2nd T20I, Indore
  • January 10 – 3rd T20I, Pune

TAGS: , , , , ,

CATEGORY: India, News, Sri Lanka, T20

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
CricketTimes.com provides Latest Cricket News, Live Scores, Schedule, Results, ICC Rankings, Stats, and Videos. Write to us at contact@crickettimes.com.