England announce T20I and Test squads for New Zealand tour

Posted On / /
England announce T20I and Test squads for New Zealand tour

England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) on Monday announced the squads for the five T20Is and two Test matches against New Zealand.

England’s limited-overs skipper Eoin Morgan will lead the side for the first time after the World Cup triumph.

The selectors have dropped Jason Roy and Jonny Bairstow from the Test squad after they failed terribly in the recent-concluded Ashes series which ended in a draw 2-2.

ECB took note of Tom Banton and Saqib Mahmood’s performance in the domestic competition and included them in the final 15 for the first time.

Somerset’s Banton earned the reward for finishing second in the leading run-scorers’ list with 594 runs in the recent-concluded T20 Blast, while Mahmood reaped a reward for picking up most wickets in the Royal London One-Day Cup.

Worcestershire pacer Pat Brown and Lancashire leg-spinner Matthew Parkinson have also received their maiden call-ups.

The two-Test series which is not part of the ICC World Test Championship will start on November 21 and England have included Dominic Sibley, Zak Crawley, Saqib Mahmood and Matt Parkinson into their 15-member squad.

Dom Sibley, Zak Crawley, Saqib Mahmood and Matthew Parkinson

England tour of New Zealand will begin with a T20I match on November 1 in Christchurch. The rest of the four T20I matches will be played on November 3, 5, 8 and 10 in Wellington, Nelson, Napier, and Auckland, respectively.

The Test series will begin on November 21 at Bay Oval, Mt Maunganui, while the second match will be played at Seddon Park, Hamilton from November 29 to December 3.


T20Is: Eoin Morgan (Middlesex) captain, Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire), Tom Banton (Somerset), Sam Billings (Kent), Pat Brown (Worcestershire), Sam Curran (Surrey), Tom Curran (Surrey), Joe Denly (Kent), Lewis Gregory (Somerset), Chris Jordan (Sussex), Saqib Mahmood (Lancashire), Dawid Malan (Middlesex), Matt Parkinson (Lancashire), Adil Rashid (Yorkshire), James Vince (Hampshire).

Tests: Joe Root (Yorkshire) captain, Jofra Archer (Sussex), Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire), Rory Burns (Surrey), Jos Buttler (Lancashire), Zak Crawley (Kent), Sam Curran (Surrey), Joe Denly (Kent), Jack Leach (Somerset), Saqib Mahmood (Lancashire), Matthew Parkinson (Lancashire), Ollie Pope (Surrey), Dominic Sibley (Warwickshire), Ben Stokes (Durham), Chris Woakes (Warwickshire).

TAGS: , , , ,

CATEGORY: England, News, T20, Test Match

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Anirudh is a die-hard cricket fan, loves playing, watching and talking about cricket. Cricket is his Religion & 'Sachin Tendulkar' his GOD. His motto of life is Eat, Sleep, Cricket, REPEAT!! You can write to him at anirudh@crickettimes.com or anirudhsingh2904@gmail.com and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.