ICC World Test Championship Points Table Explained: After 2 wins Australia has 56 points whereas India has 120 points

Posted On / /

On Sunday, September 8, Australia retained the Ashes on the English soil for the first time since 2001. The Aussies were ruthless as they kept picking up wickets. The match headed towards yet another edge-of-the-seat thriller as England’s tail-enders Jack Leach and Craig Overton showed some resistance. But in the end, they too lost their wickets, and the tourists won by 185 runs.

With this victory, Australia have collected 56 points on the World Test Championship table. However, India, New Zealand, and Sri Lanka are still ahead of Tim Paine’s boys on 120, 60 and 60 points respectively.

According to the rules, all the Test series that come under the World Test Championship will be allotted a total of 120 points. Since India had whitewashed the West Indies 2-0, they top the table with their full quota of 120 points. New Zealand and Sri Lanka drew the two-match series 1-1 and hence, both teams have earned 60 points each.

In the case of the five-match Ashes series, a win will give the team 24 points (120 points – divided into five matches), while a draw will help them get 8 points. With a couple of wins and a single draw under their belt, Australia have accumulated 56 points while England, with one win and one draw, have amassed 32 points.

Here are the rules:

Two-match Series –

Win – 60
Tie – 30
Draw – 20

Three-match Series –

Win – 40
Tie – 20
Draw – 13

Four-match Series –

Win – 30
Tie – 15
Draw – 10

Five-match Series –

Win – 24
Tie – 12
Draw – 8

TAGS: , ,

CATEGORY: Australia, ICC World Test Championship, India, News

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
CricketTimes.com provides Latest Cricket News, Live Scores, Schedule, Results, ICC Rankings, Stats, and Videos. Write to us at contact@crickettimes.com.