Pakistan announce 16-man squad for ODI series against Sri Lanka

Posted On / /
Pakistan announce 16-man squad for ODI series against Sri Lanka

Pakistan have announced their 16-member squad for three-match ODI series against Sri Lanka that would be played from September 27 to October 2 in Karachi.

Abid Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Usman Shinwari and Mohammad Hasnain have earned recalls.

Two forced changes have also been made after fast bowlers Shaheen Afridi, and Hasan Ali were ruled out due to illness and injury respectively. Afridi is down with dengue fever while Hasan was ruled out because of a back spasm.

“Hassan was originally part of the squad, but he felt a back spasm yesterday. According to the physiotherapist, he cannot be a part of the team right now. Let’s see how soon he can get fit,” explained chief selector and head coach Misbah-ul-Haq as he announced the names during a press conference in Lahore on Saturday.

Misbah added that the side is not going to underestimate its opponents because 10 Sri Lankan players refused to tour Pakistan citing security concerns.

“These are the only 50-over matches we play this season, and we want to make their optimum use. Over the course of my cricketing career, I have realised there are no easy games and there are no easy opponents.”

When asked why he has not included any new players in the squad, Misbah said he had no issues with selecting new players but the Pakistan team is not a laboratory to test players.

“We will only pick those players who have the required fitness and who have performed enough to be given serious consideration. In the past, we have seen we picked players prematurely, and after one or two matches, they found it difficult to cope with the pressures of international cricket.”

The squad for the three T20Is against Sri Lanka in Lahore will be announced during the one-day series. Until then, the other players in the probable camp will continue to train at the NCA.

Pakistan’s ODI squad:

Sarfaraz Ahmed (captain), Babar Azam (vice-captain), Abid Ali, Asif Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Sohail, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Shadab Khan, Usman Shinwari, Wahab Riaz.

TAGS: , , ,

CATEGORY: News, ODI, Pakistan, Sarfaraz Ahmed

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Anirudh is a die-hard cricket fan, loves playing, watching and talking about cricket. Cricket is his Religion & 'Sachin Tendulkar' his GOD. His motto of life is Eat, Sleep, Cricket, REPEAT!! You can write to him at or and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.