Bangladesh announce T20I squad for India series; Tamim Iqbal returns to the side

Posted On / /
Bangladesh announce T20I squad for India series; Tamim Iqbal returns to the side

Bangladesh on Thursday recalled left-arm spinner Arafat Sunny and fast bowler Al-Amin Hossain to their 15-man squad for the upcoming three-match T20I series against India.

“We have recalled Sunny because we need someone experienced for India, which is a tough country. Al-Amin comes into the squad as some of our other fast bowlers are injured,” said the Bangladesh chief selector Minhajul Abedin.

Opening batsman Tamim Iqbal also made a comeback after a break during which he missed the tri-series at home involving Zimbabwe and Afghanistan.

From the last squad, BCB have excluded Taijul Islam, Sabbir Rahman and Nazmul Hossain while also handing the comeback opportunity for Soumya Sarkar in the shortest format.

“Actually we were not very keen to take Soumya. He was picked majorly at the insistence of the coach,” Abedin revealed.

The series between India and Bangladesh will start on November 3 with the first match at Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi.

Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Rajkot and Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium in Nagpur will host the other two T20Is on November 7 and 10 respectively.

Bangladesh squad:

Shakib Al Hasan (c), Tamim Iqbal, Liton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Naim Sheikh, Mushfiqur Rahhim (wk), Mahmudullah Riyad, Afif Hossain, Musaddek Hossain, Aminul Islam Biplob, Arafat Sunny, Mohammad Saifuddin, Al-Amin Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Shafiul Islam.

TAGS: , , , , , ,

CATEGORY: Bangladesh, News, T20, Tamim Iqbal

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Anirudh is a die-hard cricket fan, loves playing, watching and talking about cricket. Cricket is his Religion & 'Sachin Tendulkar' his GOD. His motto of life is Eat, Sleep, Cricket, REPEAT!! You can write to him at or and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.