Pakistan announce 16-man squad for T20I series against Sri Lanka

Posted On / /
Pakistan announce 16-man squad for T20I series against Sri Lanka

Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has announced a 16-member squad for the upcoming T20I series against Sri Lanka.

Umar Akmal and Ahmed Shehzad have returned to the set up with the T20 World Cup scheduled to be played in Australia next year. The duo last represented Pakistan in the shortest format in 2016 and 2018 respectively. It will be interesting to see if they grabbed the opportunity to seal their place in the side.

Faheem Ashraf also returns for the T20Is after missing out on the flight to London for the World Cup earlier this year.

The veteran players Mohammad Hafeez and Shoaib Malik are also not part of the squad. They are currently playing in the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) and have got the NOC from the PCB to participate in the tournament until October 12.

Pakistan’s T20I squad:

Sarfaraz Ahmed (captain), Babar Azam (vice-captain), Ahmed Shehzad, Asif Ali, Faheem Ashraf, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Sohail, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Nawaz, Shadab Khan, Umar Akmal, Usman Shinwari, Wahab Riaz.

The three-match series will be played on October 5, 7, 9 respectively at the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore.

TAGS: , , , , ,

CATEGORY: Ahmed Shehzad, News, Pakistan, T20, Umar Akmal

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Weekly Newsletter.

About the Author: provides Latest Cricket News, Live Scores, Schedule, Results, ICC Rankings, Stats, and Videos. Write to us at