Road Safety World Series: Dates, Teams & List of captains

Posted On / /
Road Safety World Series: Dates, Teams & List of captains

Sachin Tendulkar, Brian Lara, Jonty Rhodes, and Virender Sehwag are among the big names to feature in Road Safety World Series – a T20 tournament that aims to promote road safety.

The first season of the league will be played in 2020 from February 2 and 16 in Mumbai and Pune.

With the Professional Management Group and the Road Safety Cell of the Maharashtra government as the organizers, the league will feature six teams — India Legends, Australia Legends, South Africa Legends, Sri Lanka Legends and West Indies Legends.

The league was launched in Mumbai on Thursday in the presence of the five captains – Tendulkar, West Indies great Brian Lara, Australian pacer Brett Lee, South Africa’s Jonty Rhodes, and Sri Lanka’s Tillakaratne Dilshan, as well as Virender Sehwag and Sunil Gavaskar, who will be the league’s commissioner.

The Indian team will also feature Sehwag, Zaheer Khan, RP Singh, and Ajit Agarkar. Jacques Kallis is expected to play for South Africa while Muttiah Muralitharan is also expected to be a part of the competition.

Brett Lee, the captain of the Australia team, said that he can guarantee the tournament will be competitive despite the participants having given up international cricket. The final list of players is yet to be revealed but the former speedster said that compatriots Brad Hodge and Andrew Symonds have been signed.

As of now, around 75 players from the five countries are said to be taking part in the league.

TAGS: , , , , , , , , ,

CATEGORY: Australia, Brett Lee, Brian Lara, India, Jonty Rhodes, News, Sachin Tendulkar, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Tillakaratne Dilshan, West Indies

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Anirudh is a die-hard cricket fan, loves playing, watching and talking about cricket. Cricket is his Religion & 'Sachin Tendulkar' his GOD. His motto of life is Eat, Sleep, Cricket, REPEAT!! You can write to him at or and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.