Sri Lanka announce squad for T20I series against Australia

Posted On / /
Sri Lanka announce squad for T20I series against Australia

Sri Lanka’s T20I skipper Lasith Malinga, who skipped the recent Pakistan tour citing security fears, was on Thursday included in the 16-man squad for the upcoming Australia series.

Some of the star performers from Sri Lanka’s tour of Pakistan have been rewarded. Bhanuka Rajapaksa and Oshada Fernando retained their spots after both making their debuts in Pakistan.

Rajapaksa grabbed headlines with a stunning 48-ball 77, which flattened Pakistan in the second T20I to secure a series victory. Fernando, on the other hand, lit up the final match of the series with an unbeaten 78 off 48 balls.

Other senior players who have returned to the squad after opting out of the last tour are Niroshan Dickwella, Kusal Perera, and Kusal Mendis. Only two players are missing from the team that hosted New Zealand a little over a month ago – Akila Dananjaya and Lahiru Madashanka.

Dananjaya was suspended after appearing against New Zealand pending remedial work on his bowling action, while Madashanka failed to impress during his last appearance in Pakistan.

Sri Lanka will travel to Australia this weekend ahead of the three-match series beginning on October 27 in Adelaide.


Lasith Malinga (captain), Kusal Perera, Kusal Mendis, Danushka Gunathilaka, Avishka Fernando, Niroshan Dickwella, Dasun Shanaka, Shehan Jayasuriya, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Oshada Fernando, Wanindu Hasaranga, Lakshan Sandakan, Nuwan Pradeep, Lahiru Kumara, Isuru Udana and Kasun Rajitha.

TAGS: , , , , , , ,

CATEGORY: Lasith Malinga, News, Sri Lanka, T20

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author: provides Latest Cricket News, Live Scores, Schedule, Results, ICC Rankings, Stats, and Videos. Write to us at