Marnus Labuschagne catch attempt

WATCH: Third umpire overturns decision on absolute blinder from Marnus Labuschagne

Ever since Marnus Labuschagne was roped in as the first-ever concussion substitute for Steve Smith during the Ashes earlier this year, his fortunes have changed. Batting at No.3, he has become the most reliable batsman for the Aussies after Smith himself.

However, coming into the Gabba Test, the 25-year-old was yet to register a century across his first nine Tests. And in front of his home crowd on Saturday, Labuschagne filled that gap on his CV.


Labuschagne (185) and David Warner (154) helped Australia accumulate the first-innings tally of 580 during their an innings and five runs victory over Pakistan in Brisbane on Sunday.

Amazing catch by Labuschagne in the slip but the third umpire didn’t agree


Labuschagne appeared to take what would have been one of the best catches of the year, to dismiss Mohammad Rizwan.

The 25-year-old was confident he had gripped the ball before it hit the ground, as he and Steve Smith both dived for the catch.


The on-field umpire went upstairs with the soft signal of ‘out’, meaning the third umpire would need conclusive evidence to let the batsman stay.

But upon review, the video official deemed Labuschagne had grounded the ball, despite the vision appearing to be inconclusive.


Here’s the video:

This article was first published on CricketTimes.com.
For latest cricket news and updates, visit https://crickettimes.com or follow us on Google News.

Share it with a Cricket fan!


Anirudh is a die-hard cricket fan, loves playing, watching and talking about cricket. Cricket is his Religion & 'Sachin Tendulkar' his GOD. His motto of life is Eat, Sleep, Cricket, REPEAT!! You can write to him at [email protected] or get in touch with him on twitter.