Mitchell Santner had a lucky escape after Australia’s appeal proved “inconclusive” for the third umpire to overturn the on-field umpire’s not-out decision on the third day of the ongoing Boxing Day Test at MCG.
Australia’s frustrations with Decision Review System (DRS) continued after a Mitchell Starc delivery, which was fended away by Santner at the crease to Travis Head at leg gully, wasn’t given out. The hosts went upstairs for it as they believed that the ball had hit the glove of the Kiwi batsmen before striking his arm guard.
After consulting with fielders, Marnus Labuschagne and Matthew Wade, the Aussie skipper Tim Paine challenged on-field umpire Marais Erasmus’ decision and went for a review.
Australia lost a referral when third umpire Aleem Dar upheld the decision after reviewing video replays from several angles and said there was “inconclusive evidence.” However, the ball appeared to brush the sweatband of Santner’s glove.
— cricket.com.au (@cricketcomau) December 28, 2019
Santner was ultimately caught behind for three off the bowling of James Pattinson soon after the lunch break before New Zealand were bundled out for 148 before tea in reply to Australia’s first innings total of 467.
Meanwhile, former Australia captain Ricky Ponting was left fuming with Dar’s decision.
“That has been missed by the third umpire, absolutely as plain as day … if you can’t get that right, then you shouldn’t be doing it,” said Ponting.
“(The sweatband) clearly moves before it goes into the forearm guard. That, in my opinion, is conclusive evidence.”