Australia announce squad for three-match Test series against New Zealand

Posted On / /

After defeating Pakistan in a 2-0 series whitewash, the Australian team is gearing up to meet New Zealand in a three-match Test series, which will begin from December 12.

The Aussie selectors have announced the team, which includes 13 out of 14 members from the same squad that was picked for the series against Pakistan. Cameron Bancroft has been left out from the squad. However, if a concussion situation comes in, then Australia wouldn’t have a batting substitute.

“We are backing the current batting line-up to continue their form across the next three Tests,” Aussie head selector Trevor Hons said.

“Whilst not a part of this squad, Cameron Bancroft remains one of the standby players. Similarly, depending on conditions, we reserve the right to add a player to the squad at any time during the series,” added Hons.

Australia will be hosting New Zealand for three Tests, the first of which will be a Day-Night Test at Perth, the second will be the Boxing Day Test at the MCG, and the final Test will be played as the New Year’s Test at the SCG on January 3.

Australia Test Squad:

Tim Paine (c, wk), Joe Burns, Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Michael Neser, James Pattinson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade, David Warner.

TAGS: , , , ,

CATEGORY: Australia, Cameron Bancroft, ICC World Test Championship, New Zealand, News, Test Match

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author: provides Latest Cricket News, Live Scores, Schedule, Results, ICC Rankings, Stats, and Videos. Write to us at