Here is India’s revised squad for ODI series vs West Indies after groin injury to Bhuvneshwar Kumar

Posted On

Bhuvneshwar Kumar, India’s premier fast bowler, has been ruled out of their three-match ODI series against West Indies with a groin injury. Shardul Thakur, the right-arm Mumbai pacer, has been called up as his replacement.

Bhuvi complained of pain in his right groin after the final T20I vs Windies at the Wankhede on Wednesday. He underwent an ultrasound scan conducted by a specialist, and the BCCI medical team found that his sportsman’s hernia symptoms have resurfaced, the press-release said.

The Meerut-born seamer who recently made his comeback after being sidelined due to a hamstring injury and side-strain has suffered a setback only after three matches of his return.

Also, this is the second change made in the original squad announced by the selectors after Karnataka batsman Mayank Agarwal replaced opener Shikhar Dhawan.

Thakur had featured in a Ranji Trophy game against Baroda in Vadodara, which concluded on Thursday.

Revised India’s squad:

Virat Kohli (c), Rohit Sharma, Mayank Agarwal, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant (wk), Shivam Dube, Kedar Jadhav, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Deepak Chahar, Mohammed Shami, Shardul Thakur.

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Anirudh is a die-hard cricket fan, loves playing, watching and talking about cricket. Cricket is his Religion & 'Sachin Tendulkar' his GOD. His motto of life is Eat, Sleep, Cricket, REPEAT!! You can write to him at or and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.