ICC Awards 2019: Ellyse Perry and Alyssa Healy win top honours among women cricketers

Posted On / /
ICC Awards 2019: Ellyse Perry and Alyssa Healy win top honours among women cricketers

The Australian women’s cricket team have dominated the 2019 ICC Awards, with star duo Ellyse Perry and Alyssa Healy achieving a clean sweep of the top honours.

Perry took out the main honour, claiming the Rachael Heyhoe-Flint award as the ICC Women’s Cricketer of the Year.

The 29-year-old Perry has had a stellar year across formats, with three hundreds, including one in the Women’s Ashes Test. She averages 73.50 from 12 ODIs this year, where she has also taken 21 wickets, with best figures of 7/22. She also became the first player to complete 1,000 runs and 100 wickets in T20I cricket.

“It’s an amazing honour and I’m a little bit shocked, given how many amazing performances there have been across the year,” said Perry, who has won the Rachael Heyhoe-Flint Award for the second time in three years – the first as the inaugural winner in 2017.

“It’s amazing to be acknowledged and I do truly appreciate it. It’s a really nice way to finish the year on a personal note.”

Meanwhile, Healy was named as the 2019 ICC Women’s T20 Cricketer of the Year, with the wicketkeeper notching 378 runs at a phenomenal average of 53.14.

The highlight of her stunning run came in October when she broke the record for the highest T20I score after belting uneaten 148 off 61 balls against Sri Lanka.

“I’m really pumped to be awarded the T20I Cricketer of the Year,” said Healy.

“The Australian women’s team had a fantastic 12-month period and we played some really consistent T20 cricket.

“Whilst the individual award is really nice for me personally, I think it was great to see our team play so well throughout that 12-month period, especially leading into a home World Cup in 2020.”

Here’s the list of winners:

  • Rachael Heyhoe Flint Award for ICC Women’s Cricketer of the Year – Ellyse Perry (Australia)
  • ICC Women’s ODI Player of the Year – Ellyse Perry (Australia)
  • ICC Women’s T20I Player of the Year – Alyssa Healy (Australia)
  • ICC Women’s Emerging Player of the Year – Chanida Sutthiruang (Thailand)

TAGS: , , , , , , ,

CATEGORY: Alyssa Healy, Australia, Ellyse Perry, ICC

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Anirudh is a die-hard cricket fan, loves playing, watching and talking about cricket. Cricket is his Religion & 'Sachin Tendulkar' his GOD. His motto of life is Eat, Sleep, Cricket, REPEAT!! You can write to him at anirudh@crickettimes.com or anirudhsingh2904@gmail.com and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.