Wisden announces ODI team of the decade

Posted On / /
Wisden announces ODI team of the decade

As the decade draws to a close, Wisden has announced its ODI team of the last 10 years. The team consists of players who dominated the 50-over format from 2010-19.

India vice-captain Rohit Sharma has been picked to open the innings along with Australian southpaw David Warner. Rohit amassed 8186 runs at 53.50 with the best score of 264 in 179 ODIs since 2010, on the other hand, Warner clubbed 4884 runs at 47.88 in 109 ODIs.

The opening duo will be followed by Indian captain Virat Kohli, who has been the batsman of the decade in this format with 11040 runs at an average of 60.65 from 226 matches.

At No. 4 comes in former South Africa’ AB de Villiers, who retired from international cricket last year. The Proteas star piled up 6485 runs at 64.20 in 135 ODIs during 2010-19.

England’s Jos Buttler has been picked to bat at No. 5. He is one the most destructive batsmen England has ever produced; Buttler scored 3843 runs at an average of 40.88 from 142 ODIs.

Indian veteran stumper MS Dhoni will follow Buttler. Under Dhoni’s captaincy, India won the 2011 World Cup and the 2013 Champions Trophy, also he scored 5640 runs at a terrific average of 50.35 in this decade.

Bangladesh all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan will provide balance to the side. In 131 ODIs from 2010-19, Shakib scored 4276 runs and claimed 177 wickets.

The fast bowling attack includes Lasith Malinga (248 wickets at 28.74 in 162 ODIs), Mitchell Starc (172 wickets at 20.99 in 85 ODIs), Trent Boult (164 wickets at 25.06 in 89 ODIs) and Dale Steyn (145 wickets at 24.80 in 90 ODIs). All four of them boast a tremendous record in the 50-over format this decade.

Wisden ODI team of the decade:

Rohit Sharma, David Warner, Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Jos Buttler, MS Dhoni, Shakib Al Hasan, Lasith Malinga, Mitchell Starc, Trent Boult, Dale Steyn.

TAGS: , , , , , ,

CATEGORY: Australia, India, Mitchell Starc, News, ODI, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Anirudh is a die-hard cricket fan, loves playing, watching and talking about cricket. Cricket is his Religion & 'Sachin Tendulkar' his GOD. His motto of life is Eat, Sleep, Cricket, REPEAT!! You can write to him at anirudh@crickettimes.com or anirudhsingh2904@gmail.com and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.