Wisden announces T20I team of the decade; no place for Rohit Sharma

Posted On / /
Wisden announces T20I team of the decade; no place for Rohit Sharma

Wisden has announced their T20I team of the decade, and interestingly there is no place for Indian vice-captain Rohit Sharma. In this decade, Rohit is the second-highest scorer in T20Is after Virat Kohli, with 2392 runs.

Australia’s limited-overs captain Aaron Finch leads the Wisden T20I team of the decade, whereas two Indian players have been picked into the side. There is no place for former Indian skipper MS Dhoni as well.

Finch and New Zealand batsman Colin Munro open the innings for Wisden. Finch scored 1878 runs in this decade at an impressive strike rate of 156.50 and provided flying starts to the Aussies. Munro, on the other hand, scored 1546 runs at a staggering strike rate of 160.04 and an average of 30.92 between 2010-19.

At number three comes in India captain Virat Kohli, who is the highest run-scorer in T20Is, with 2633 runs. Kohli is the most consistent batsmen across the world, and he averages a stunning 52.66 in the shortest format of the game.

Former Australian all-rounder Shane Watson bats at No. 4. Watson not only scored 1376 runs at an impressive strike rate of 147.58 but also scalped 45 wickets in this decade. Australia’s dashing batsman Glenn Maxwell also makes the cut into the side as he scored 1576 runs in the last ten years at an outstanding strike rate of 160.

England’s Jos Buttler is the wicketkeeper of the side as the talisman scored 1260 runs at a healthy strike rate of 138.50. Afghanistan’s all-rounder Mohammad Nabi and leg-spinner Rashid Khan also get a place in the side. Nabi scored 1316 runs at a strike rate of 145.89 and scalped 69 wickets in the decade. Meanwhile, Rashid scalped 84 wickets at an impressive economy rate of 6.15.

England all-rounder David Willey, who took 34 wickets in this decade, bats ahead of Rashid due to his power-hitting skills.

Jasprit Bumrah and Lasith Malinga, the two yorker specialists, are the fast bowlers in the side. Bumrah took 51 wickets at an excellent economy of 6.71, whereas Malinga claimed 82 wickets in this decade.

Wisden T20I team of the decade:

Aaron Finch (c), Colin Munro, Virat Kohli, Shane Watson, Glenn Maxwell, Jos Buttler (wk), Mohammad Nabi, David Willey, Rashid Khan, Jasprit Bumrah, Lasith Malinga.

TAGS: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Anirudh is a die-hard cricket fan, loves playing, watching and talking about cricket. Cricket is his Religion & 'Sachin Tendulkar' his GOD. His motto of life is Eat, Sleep, Cricket, REPEAT!! You can write to him at anirudh@crickettimes.com or anirudhsingh2904@gmail.com and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.