Wisden announces Test team of the decade, Virat Kohli named captain

Posted On / /

This has been a stellar decade for cricket, mainly Test cricket, where matches have seen more results as compared to previous decades. As the decade draws to a close, Wisden have announced the team of the decade and have named Virat Kohli as the captain of the side.

Alastair Cook and David Warner are the openers, and Kumar Sangakkara and Steve Smith will follow them. Captain Virat Kohli walks out at number 5, and well, this is a reliable middle order. Smith and Kohli are perhaps the two biggest names of the decade and might well continue to dominate world cricket even in the next decade.

AB de Villiers will march out after Virat Kohli, and he will then be followed by England all-rounder Ben Stokes, who has been the toast of the nation for scripting two incredible wins for the side. His all-round exploits will add more balance to the side, and yes, he has been perhaps the best all-rounder of the decade.

Dale Steyn, the South African pacer, who has retired from Test matches, will take the new ball and can set the tone up front. James Anderson and Kagiso Rabada are the two other fast bowlers who will share the new ball.

Ravichandran Ashwin is the lone spinner in the squad, and the Indian offie has emerged as the premier spinner for not only India but has been successful across all conditions.

Wisden’s Test XI of the decade:

Alastair Cook, David Warner, Kumar Sangakkara, Steve Smith, Virat Kohli (c), AB de Villiers, Ben Stokes, Ravichandran Ashwin, Dale Steyn, James Anderson, Kagiso Rabada.

TAGS: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

CATEGORY: India, News, Test Match, Virat Kohli

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Anirudh is a die-hard cricket fan, loves playing, watching and talking about cricket. Cricket is his Religion & 'Sachin Tendulkar' his GOD. His motto of life is Eat, Sleep, Cricket, REPEAT!! You can write to him at anirudh@crickettimes.com or anirudhsingh2904@gmail.com and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.