In the 29th match of the ongoing Big Bash League (BBL), a moment came which left players, umpires, commentators, and fans in confusion. All thanks to Matt Renshaw’s incredible effort at the boundary rope to dismiss Matthew Wade.
During the 15th over of Hobart Hurricanes innings, skipper Wade smashed a Ben Cutting’s delivery to deep mid-wicket, which almost cleared the ropes, but Brisbane Heat’s middle-order player Renshaw had some other plans.
Renshaw, who was positioned at long-on, ran and jumped to grab the catch; in the attempt, he crossed the ropes, but before that, he flicked the ball up in the air. Renshaw again bounced up and tapped the ball to another fielder around; Tom Banton, who eventually caught it.
— cricket.com.au (@cricketcomau) January 9, 2020
The “Laws of Cricket” were updated in October 2013 to deem such a catch legal; therefore, the third umpire gave a decision in Heat’s favor, and Wade was given out. This stirred social media with a barrage of confusion over the decision.
Out or not out?
— ESPNcricinfo (@ESPNcricinfo) January 9, 2020
Matt Renshaw kicking off a sh*t storm of a debate over the laws of cricket…
Was it out or not out?
— The Sportsman (@TheSportsman) January 9, 2020
CAN YOU JUST BELIEVE THIS CATCH? 😲
The ball went over the ropes, but Matt Renshaw, somehow, manages to pull it back for Tom Banton 🙌
— Cricingif (@_cricingif) January 9, 2020
Even allowing for the fact that Matthew Wade is the batsman, this simply cannot be out. pic.twitter.com/bxCaWABv0Q
— Malik Ouzia (@MalikOuzia_) January 9, 2020
The official Twitter handle of the Lord’s Cricket ended the confusion with the detailed analysis of the catch. It said that according to the law, the catch is legal.
“Amazing catch today in the @BBL. Under Law 19.5, the catch is deemed lawful. The key moment is when he first touches the ball, which is inside the boundary. He’s airborne for his second contact,” tweeted Lord’s cricket.
👏 Amazing catch today in the @BBL!
Under Law 19.5, the catch is deemed lawful.
The key moment is when he first touches the ball, which is inside the boundary. He’s airborne for his second contact.pic.twitter.com/ZTWMjAhffT
— Lord's | Ticket Ballot now open! (@HomeOfCricket) January 9, 2020