New Zealand announce strong squad for five-match T20I series against India

Posted On / /
New Zealand announce strong squad for five-match T20I series against India

New Zealand on Tuesday announced their 14-man squad for the upcoming five-match T20I series against India. The Black Caps have named a strong squad for the series in the shortest format of the game with a ‘fit-again’ Kane Williamson marking his comeback.

Uncapped Hamish Bennett, who has played one Test and 16 ODIs for New Zealand so far, has been included in the T20I squad following his prolific outing with the ball in Super Smash 2019-20.

The five-match T20I series begins on January 24, with the first T20I to be played at Eden Park in Auckland. It will also host the second T20I on January 26. The next three T20Is will be played in Hamilton, Wellington and Mount Maunganui on January 29, 31 and February 2, respectively.

After the T20Is, the two teams will also play three ODIs and two Tests.

India have already confirmed their T20I squad for the series. Sanju Samson was the only player to be dropped as Rohit Sharma has made his comeback in the shortest format.

New Zealand squad: Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Kane Williamson (c), Ross Taylor, Colin de Grandhomme (matches 1st to 3rd), Tom Bruce (for 4th and 5th match), Scott Kuggeleijn, Daryl Mitchell, Mitchell Santner, Tim Seifert, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Blair Tickner, Hamish Bennett.

TAGS: , , , , ,

CATEGORY: Kane Williamson, New Zealand, News, T20

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Anirudh is a die-hard cricket fan, loves playing, watching and talking about cricket. Cricket is his Religion & 'Sachin Tendulkar' his GOD. His motto of life is Eat, Sleep, Cricket, REPEAT!! You can write to him at or and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.