New Zealand announces 13-man ODI squad for India series, Tom Latham returns

Posted On / /
New Zealand announces 13-man ODI squad for India series, Tom Latham returns
Kane WIlliamson-Tom Latham (Image Source: AP)

New Zealand Cricket (NZC) have announced their One-Day International (ODI) squad for the upcoming three-match series at home against India.

NZC have excluded the pacers trio of Trent Boult, Lockie Ferguson, and Matt Henry due to their injuries. Boult suffered a broken hand while Ferguson and Henry agonized with a calf strain and broken thumb.

Scott Kuggeleijn, Hamish Bennett, and uncapped Kyle Jamieson have been called in the absence of the injured trio. Right-arm swing bowler Tim Southee will lead the attack.

Meanwhile, wicketkeeper-batsman Tom Latham has recovered from his injury and therefore has been added into the 13-member squad.

Colin de Grandhomme, James Neesham, and Mitchell Santner will play the role of all-rounders in the squad. Spinner Ish Sodhi is added to play only the series opener and then will be released from the team to join New Zealand A for the second first-class match against India A in Christchurch, starting February 7.

This will be the first ODI series for the Kiwis since the Cricket World Cup final in July last year.

“Tim Southee has an important job leading our new-look pace attack, which has a huge opportunity against some of the very best batsmen in the world,” coach Gary Stead said as quoted by the Cricbuzz.

“While the bowling lineup has a fresh look, the batting is very settled, and we’ll likely have the same top eight batsmen from the World Cup finals,” added Gary.

“Jimmy and Colin continue as the pace bowling all-rounders after strong campaigns in England, and they will offer us plenty of firepower and versatility. Henry will remain at the top of the order after impressing in the opportunities he’s had. He’s been in good form opening for Canterbury in the latest rounds of the Ford Trophy with a hundred and a half-century to his name,” Gary added further.

New Zealand squad:

Kane Williamson (c), Hamish Bennett, Tom Blundell, Colin de Grandhomme, Martin Guptill, Kyle Jamieson, Scott Kuggeleijn, Tom Latham (wk), James Neesham, Henry Nicholls, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi (only 1st ODI), Tim Southee, Ross Taylor.

TAGS: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

CATEGORY: India, New Zealand, News, ODI, Tom Latham

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Akshat is just another cricket fan who’s grown up watching the likes of Sachin Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid. Cricket runs in his veins. Cover drive is his favorite sight, and a ball meeting the middle of the bat is his favorite sound. You can write to him at or and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.