U19 World Cup 2020: ICC punish Australia opener Sam Fanning for elbowing India seamer Akash Singh

Posted On / /
Screen grab : ICC Cricket World Cup

Australia opener Sam Fanning has been found guilty of breaching the ICC Code of Conduct for Players and Player Support Personnel and received two demerit points on Thursday.

The incident occurred during the U19 World Cup Super League quarter-final match between Australia and India in Potchefstroom on Tuesday.

On the very first ball of the 31st over, Fanning stuck his elbow out, which made contact with the Indian seamer Akash Singh.

The video also shows that a visibly upset Singh did not take Fanning’s behavior lightly as he was seen complaining to the on-field umpires.

After the match, Fanning admitted his mistake and accepted the sanction proposed by match referee Graeme Labrooy; therefore, there was no need for a formal hearing. The charge was leveled by on-field umpires Adrian Holdstock and Sharfuddoula Ibne Shahid, third umpire Wayne Knights, as well as fourth umpire Asif Yaqoob.

Fanning (75 off 121) was the top-scorer in Australia’s chase of 234, in which they fell short by 74 runs.

TAGS: , , , , ,

CATEGORY: Australia, India, News, ODI, World Cup

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
CricketTimes.com provides Latest Cricket News, Live Scores, Schedule, Results, ICC Rankings, Stats, and Videos. Write to us at contact@crickettimes.com.