Australia Cricket Awards: Year-wise Allan Border Medal and Belinda Clark award winners

Posted On / /
Australia Cricket Awards: Year-wise Allan Border Medal and Belinda Clark award winners
David Warner, Ellyse Perry, Australia Cricket Awards. (Pic Source: Twitter)

The Australian Cricket Awards ceremony took place in Crown Melbourne on Monday. These awards recognize the best players in the country, where the Allan Border Medal is given to best male cricketer of the year, while Belinda Clark Award is given to the best female cricketer of the year.

The Allan Border (AB) Medal is named after former Australian men’s captain Allan Border and was first awarded in 2000 to Glenn McGrath – all time leading wicket-taker (563) amongst fast bowlers.

The Belinda Clark award was named after former Australian women cricketer Belinda Clark – first ever batter to score a double century in a women’s One Day Internationals. Karen Rolton was the first women cricketer to be facilitated by this award in 2002.

Five cricketers have won the AB medal more than once. Former captain Ricky Ponting and Michael Clarke won the award four times, sharing the award in 2009. Opener David Warner has grabbed the prestigious award on Monday. He has won the award three times. Apart from him, Shane Watson and Steve Smith have won the award twice.

Ellyse Perry has won the 2020 Belinda Clark award, and this was her third overall. She won it in 2016 and 2018. Australian women’s team skipper Meg Lanning has also won the significant award three times (2014, 2015, 2017).

Former all-rounder Shelley Nitschke won the award for four consecutive years in 2009, 2010, 2011, and 2012.

Here is the list of Allan Border Medal winners (year-wise):

  • 2000: Glenn McGrath
  • 2001: Steve Waugh
  • 2002: Matthew Hayden
  • 2003: Adam Gilchrist
  • 2004: Ricky Ponting
  • 2005: Michael Clarke
  • 2006: Ricky Ponting
  • 2007: Ricky Ponting
  • 2008: Brett Lee
  • 2009: Ricky Ponting and Michael Clarke
  • 2010: Shane Watson
  • 2011: Shane Watson
  • 2012: Michael Clarke
  • 2013: Michael Clarke
  • 2014: Mitchell Johnson
  • 2015: Steve Smith
  • 2016: David Warner
  • 2017: David Warner
  • 2018: Steve Smith
  • 2019: Pat Cummins
  • 2020: David Warner

Here is the list of Belinda Clark award winners (year-wise):

  • 2002: Karen Rolton
  • 2003: Karen Rolton
  • 2004: Cathryn Fitzpatrick
  • 2005: Karen Rolton
  • 2006: Karen Rolton
  • 2007: Lisa Sthalekar
  • 2008: Lisa Sthalekar
  • 2009: Shelley Nitschke
  • 2010: Shelley Nitschke
  • 2011: Shelley Nitschke
  • 2012: Shelley Nitschke
  • 2013: Jess Cameron
  • 2014: Meg Lanning
  • 2015: Meg Lanning
  • 2016: Ellyse Perry
  • 2017: Meg Lanning
  • 2018: Ellyse Perry
  • 2019: Alyssa Healy
  • 2020: Ellyse Perry

TAGS: , , ,

CATEGORY: Australia, David Warner, Ellyse Perry, News

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Akshat is just another cricket fan who’s grown up watching the likes of Sachin Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid. Cricket runs in his veins. Cover drive is his favorite sight, and a ball meeting the middle of the bat is his favorite sound. You can write to him at or and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.