BCCI announces four-team Women’s T20 Challenge during IPL playoffs

Posted On / /
BCCI announces four-team Women’s T20 Challenge during IPL playoffs
Women's T20 Challenge. (Image Source: Twitter)

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced on Saturday that the Women’s T20 Challenge 2020 will be hosted at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur. The seven scheduled matches will be played during the Indian Premier League (IPL) Playoff week.

Earlier, three teams participated during the 2019 edition of the women’s T20 tournament namely IPL Trailblazers, IPL Velocity and IPL Supernovas. However, in this edition of the tournament, four teams will feature instead of three teams from last year’s competition.

The three teams from last year were captained by Indian Women’s team stars Harmanpreet Kaur, Smriti Mandhana and Mithali Raj.

“As part of its ongoing commitment to grow the women’s game, BCCI are pleased to announce the 2020 Women’s T20 Challenge. The tournament which started in 2018 and was a huge success, further garnered all the right eyeballs in the year to follow,” the BCCI announced in its press release.

IPL Supernovas, captained by India’s current T20 skipper, Kaur, won the championship last year, on a final ball-thriller.

“The 2019 games, comprising three teams were played at Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur during the IPL Playoff and Finals week. The tournament was played with great intensity which saw the winner of 2019 WT20 Challenge being decided over the last ball of the match,” the release stated further.

International stars such as Ellyse Perry, Chamari Atapattu, Sophie Devine, Suzie Bates, Jahanara Alam, Danielle Wyatt, Sophie Ecclestone, Amelia Kerr and Stafanie Taylor participated in the grand women’s tournament last year.

“2020 aims to be no different and this edition will see a 4th team added to the tournament. The WT20 Challenge this year will feature some of the world’s best women cricketers and will have 7 matches played during the IPL Playoff week at Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur. Like the previous editions, this year’s Women’s T20 Challenge too promises to be an exciting prospect,” concluded the Indian board in its release.

TAGS: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

CATEGORY: Harmanpreet Kaur, IPL, Mithali Raj, News, Smriti Mandhana, T20, Women Cricket

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Weekly Newsletter.

About the Author:
Shubro is an ardent fan of sports, be it cricket, soccer, or tennis, he has an eye for all. Meticulous cricket writer by the day and an avid FIFA mobile player by the night, his life revolves around sports. The goal is to trott around the globe and to spread happiness through his goofy sense of humour. Write to him at mukherjeeshubro@gmail.com.