ICC sanctions 3 Bangladesh and 2 Indian players for misconduct in U19 World Cup 2020 final

Posted On / /
ICC sanctions 3 Bangladesh and 2 Indian players for misconduct in U19 World Cup 2020 final
U19 WC Final (Image Source: Twitter)

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has sanctioned five players for their delinquency during the final of the 2020 U19 World Cup played between India and Bangladesh at Potchefstroom in South Africa, where the latter emerged as victorious.

After the conclusion of the game, Bangladeshi players stormed onto the field to celebrate their outstanding win; however, members from both the teams got indulged in an ugly altercation.

ICC charged five players from the two teams as they have been found guilty of a Level 3 breach of the ICC Code of Conduct for Players and Support Personnel.

Three Bangladeshi players; Md Towhid Hridoy, Shamim Hossain, and Rakibul Hasan and two Indian players; Akash Singh and Ravi Bishnoi were charged with violating Article 2.21 of the code, while Bishnoi received a further charge of breaching Article 2.5.

All five players have accepted the sanctions proposed by ICC U19 Cricket World Cup Match Referee Graeme Labrooy.

“The match was hard fought, as you would expect in an ICC U19 Cricket World Cup Final, but the elation and disappointment experienced by some players after the game spilled over into unedifying scenes that have no place in our sport. Respect is at the very heart of the spirit of cricket, and players are expected to show self-discipline, congratulate the opposition on their successes and enjoy the success of their own team,” said Geoff Allardice, ICC General Manager Cricket in a statement issued by ICC.

“It is disappointing that Code of Conduct charges needed to be laid after such a closely contested match, but it is important to reinforce the standard of behavior that will be expected of these young players should they transition to senior international cricket,” Allardice added.

For Bangladesh, Towhid Hridoy, Shamim Hossain were handed six demerit points, whereas Rakibul Hasan received five demerit points.

From India, Akash Singh and Ravi Bishnoi were slapped with six and five demerit points, respectively. Bishnoi was also handed over two demerit points for violating Article 2.5.

All charges were levelled by on-field umpires Sam Nogajski and Adrian Holdstock, third umpire Ravindra Wimalasiri as well as fourth umpire Patrick Bongni Jele.

TAGS: , , , , , , , ,

CATEGORY: Bangladesh, ICC, India, News, ODI, World Cup

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Weekly Newsletter.

About the Author:
Akshat is just another cricket fan who’s grown up watching the likes of Sachin Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid. Cricket runs in his veins. Cover drive is his favorite sight, and a ball meeting the middle of the bat is his favorite sound. You can write to him at akshat.gaur@crickettimes.com or aks333.in@gmail.com and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.