ICC Women’s T20 World Cup: Champions of the past

Posted On / /
Australia Women's Team. (Image Source: ICC)

The seventh edition of the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup is all set to kick off on Friday, February 21. Australia will host this edition of the multilateral competition as well as commence their bid to defend the title against India in the tournament opener at Sydney.

The previous edition of the ICC tournament was held in West Indies, which the Aussies won by defeating England in the finals.
Before the previous edition of the world cup, the women’s competition used to be scheduled parallel to the men’s competition.

In 2016, West Indies won the competition along with their male comrades in the tournaments held in India. They defeated Australia in the finals held in Kolkata before the men’s marquee event, where Carlos Brathwaite played a memorable knock to take his side across the finishing line.

Also, the same year, West Indies’ U19 team won the ICC U19 World Cup, held in Bangladesh, thus completing their treble that year.

The inaugural edition of the Women’s T20I World Cup was held in England back in 2009, which the hosts won after defeating the White Ferns in the finals in London.

Australia then went on to clinch the ICC titles in the subsequent three editions held in West Indies, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh, asserting their dominance in this form of the game.

The defending champions have won the tournament the most number of times, with four championships under their belt.

England and West Indies are second with one title each to their name. Although, England ended up as the runners-up the most number of times (3 finals) in tournament history and failed to trump their old rivals Australia in all the matches.

Past Champions of ICC Women’s T20 World Cup:

  • 2009-England
  • 2010-Australia
  • 2012-Australia
  • 2014-Australia
  • 2016-West Indies
  • 2018-Australia

TAGS: , , ,

CATEGORY: Australia, England, News, T20, West Indies, Women Cricket, World Cup

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Shubro is an ardent fan of sports, be it cricket, soccer, or tennis, he has an eye for all. Meticulous cricket writer by the day and an avid FIFA mobile player by the night, his life revolves around sports. The goal is to trott around the globe and to spread happiness through his goofy sense of humour. Write to him at mukherjeeshubro@gmail.com.