PAK vs BAN: Bangladesh announce squad for Rawalpindi Test

Posted On / /
PAK vs BAN: Bangladesh announce squad for Rawalpindi Test
Bangladesh Cricket Team. (Image Source: Dhaka Tribune)

The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) recently announced their Test squad for the upcoming Rawalpindi Test match, starting February 7. The second Test match will be played from April 5 at National Stadium, Karachi.

Bangladesh cricket team faced defeat at the hands of hosts Pakistan in the 3-match T20I series. The hosts won the series by 2-0, with the last T20I abandoned due to rain, without even the coin being flipped.

The last time the Tigers played a test match was against India in a two-match Test series. Bangladesh lost both the matches by an innings margin. Imrul Kayes makes way for Soumya Sarkar while Tamim Iqbal makes a comeback in the Test outfit.

Also, batsman, Najmul Hossain Shanto, gets the nod ahead of Shadman Islam. Interestingly, there is no room for all-rounders Mossadek Hossain and Mehidy Hasan in the squad. Skipper Mushfiqur Rahim opted to pull out of the tour citing security concerns, which means Liton Das will be asked to don the gloves.

Bangladesh squad:

Mominul Haque (Captain), Tamim Iqbal, Saif Hassan, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Soumya Sarkar, Mahmudullah, Mohammad Mithun, Liton Das (Keeper), Taijul Islam, Nayeem Hasan, Ebadot Hossain, Abu Jayed, Al-Amin Hossain, Rubel Hossain.

TAGS: , , , , ,

CATEGORY: Bangladesh, News, Test Match

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Weekly Newsletter.

About the Author:
Shubro is an ardent fan of sports, be it cricket, soccer, or tennis, he has an eye for all. Meticulous cricket writer by the day and an avid FIFA mobile player by the night, his life revolves around sports. The goal is to trott around the globe and to spread happiness through his goofy sense of humour. Write to him at